Connect with us

Fantasy Football

Midseason Awards: NFL Heads break down the mid-season winners

Justin Herbert Chargers
Midseason Awards are up from NFL Heads writers. Check out which players won the midseason awards exclusively on Draft Diamonds.

By: @NflHeads2020 

MVP Winner: Russell Wilson

Josh’s Nomination: Ryan Tannehill

Sid’s Nomination: Russell Wilson

JP’s Nomination: Ryan Tannehill

Luke’s Nomination: Russell Wilson

    Finally, Russell Wilson is getting the recognition he deserves for being MVP. He went from not having a single MVP vote his whole career, to being the frontrunner at the midseason point. He doesn’t throw for 5 touchdowns a game anymore, but he is darn good at leading his team to victory, especially when his defense is not having a good game. If he keeps this type of play of, (which I believe he will), Wilson will definitely win MVP.  

Coach of the Year Winner: Kliff Kinsbury

Josh’s Nomination: Mike Vrabel

Sid’s Nomination: Kliff Kingsbury

JP’s Nomination: Mike Vrabel

Luke’s Nomination: Kliff Kingsbury

    The Cardinals are a very shocking team this year. After taking Kyler Murray first overall in the 2019 draft, Kyler’s rookie jitters took the best of him. This offseason, Kliff Kinsbury was able to develop his star quarterback and acquire DeAndre Hopkins from the Houston Texans. Kliff has built a solid offense and with the re-signing of Budda Baker, their defense could very well be an integral part in this team’s playoff hopes this year. 

Assistant Coach of the Year Winner: Keith Butler

Josh’s Nomination: Todd Bowles

Sid’s Nomination: Keith Butler

JP’s Nomination: Keith Butler

Luke’s Nomination: Keith Butler

    Keith Butler, the defensive coordinator of the Pittsburgh Steelers, is the obvious choice. The Steelers have had the best defense in the league this year, and it wins them games. The Steelers have turned Bud Dupree, TJ Watt, and Cameron Heyward into massive playmakers, and that’s only the front 7. The secondary has dominant players such as Minkah Fitzpatrick and Joe Haden. Butler has turned the Steelers into a force to be reckoned with, and not just an offensive powerhouse.

Offensive Player of the Year Winner: Derrick Henry

Josh’s Nomination: Derrick Henry

Sid’s Nomination: Derrick Henry

JP’s Nomination: Alvin Kamara

Luke’s Nomination: DeAndre Hopkins

Have you ever seen a running back built like a linebacker? Well now you have because Derrick Henry will stiff arm you into tomorrow land if you don’t watch out. Derrick leads the league in rushing yards this year even after he dealt with the COVID-19 debacle with the Titans. He has a bright future and will continue to make the offense shine every time he touches the ball

Defensive Player of the Year Winner: Aaron Donald

Josh’s Nomination: Aaron Donald

Sid’s Nomination: Aaron Donald

JP’s Nomination: Aaron Donald

Luke’s Nomination: T.J. Watt

Aaron Donald might be one of the scariest pass rushers we have ever seen. He is the soul of this defense and even doubling him up doesn’t stop him. Donald has netted just one sack less than the league leader (Myles Garrett), which is truly amazing given the fact that he doesn’t have much opportunity to tackle the quarterback because the offensive lineman are too focused on stopping him. 

Rookie of the Year Winner: Justin Herbert

Josh’s Nomination: Justin Herbert

Sid’s Nomination: Joe Burrow

JP’s Nomination: Justin Herbert

Luke’s Nomination: Justin Herbert

Herbert is the obvious pick for this award, his play has been mind boggling. Looking at the Chargers record you would not guess that Herbert was anything special, but he could have beaten the Saints if Michael Badgley knew how to kick a field goal, and have been close on multiple games. Herbert has thrown 1542 yards, with 12 touchdowns and three interceptions, that is an insane statline!

Offensive Rookie of the Year Winner: Clyde Edwards-Helaire

Josh’s Nomination: Chase Claypool

Sid’s Nomination: Clyde Edwards-Helaire

JP’s Nomination: Justin Herbert

Luke’s Nomination: Clyde Edwards-Helaire

    Clyde Edwards-Helaire looks like the real thing. On the opening day of the NFL, when Clyde Edwards-Helaire hit the field he looked instantly incredible and dominant. Edwards-Helaire has already hit 551 yards, and could be one of the best rookie running backs we have ever seen.

Defensive Rookie of the Year Winner: Patrick Queen

Josh’s Nomination: Antoine Winfield Jr.

Sid’s Nomination: Patrick Queen

JP’s Nomination: Antoine Winfield Jr.

Luke’s Nomination: Chase Young

    The best rookies of this class have basically been on the offensive side, but one rookie that has made a huge impact on the defensive end is Ravens LB Patrick Queen. Queen may be considered the Lamar Jackson of this draft (which is ironic because he plays with Lamar Jackson), because he is a late 1st round select that many people thought would take more time to develop, but Queen is showing that he has great potential and is a top 10 rookie in this class.

Comeback Player of the Year Winner: Myles Garrett

Josh’s Nomination: Myles Garrett

Sid’s Nomination: Nick Foles

JP’s Nomination: Kareem Hunt

Luke’s Nomination: Matthew Stafford

    Myles Garrett wouldn’t even be considered on this list if it wasn’t for the incident that happened last year between Garrett and Mason Rudolph, but because that happened, Garrett has come out as the favorite to win CPOY. As Madden 21 says, “It’s like he was built in a lab”, and I totally agree with them (for once). MYles Garrett is a freak and basically has this award wrapped up.

NFL Draft Diamonds was created to assist the underdogs playing the sport. We call them diamonds in the rough. My name is Damond Talbot, I have worked extremely hard to help hundreds of small school players over the past several years, and will continue my mission. We have several contributors on this site, and if they contribute their name and contact will be in the piece above. You can email me at [email protected]

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in Fantasy Football