Connect with us

NFL Draft

Jerry Rice Award names their 20 Finalists for Best Freshman Player in FCS football

Ty Brock the Freshman gunslinger of Sam Houston State is up for the Jerry Rice Award. Remember Cooper Kupp won this award

Jerry Rice Award is one of the best awards in the country for a small school football player. A part of the 2018 STATS FCS legacy awards, the Jerry Rice Award, presented to the Freshman player of the year in college football’s Division I subdivision.

A national panel of over 150 sports information and media relations directors, broadcasters, writers and other dignitaries will select the winners. Voting is based on the regular season.


FCS Freshman Player of the Year – 20 Finalists

  1. Christian Benford, CB – Villanova
  2. Ty Brock, QB – Sam Houston State
  3. Julius Chestnut, RB – Sacred Heart
  4. Jack Cook, QB – Dayton
  5. Jon Copeland, QB – UIW
  6. Josh Davis, RB – Weber State
  7. Mohammed Diakite, CB, Penn
  8. Andrew Edgar, WR – Illinois State
  9. Juwon Farri, RB – Monmouth
  10. Bailey Fisher, QB – Tennessee Tech
  11. Ulonzo Gilliam, RB – UC Davis
  12. Malik Hamm, DE – Lafayette
  13. Robby Hauck, S – Montana
  14. Quay Holmes, RB – ETSU
  15. Adrian Hope, LB – Furman
  16. Noah Larson, LB – North Dakota
  17. Skyler Perry, QB – Arkansas-Pine Bluff
  18. Xavier Smith, WR – Florida A&M
  19. Caleb Snead, WR – Campbell
  20. Jareem Westcott, RB – Stetson

NFL Draft Diamonds was created to assist the underdogs playing the sport. We call them diamonds in the rough. My name is Damond Talbot, I have worked extremely hard to help hundreds of small school players over the past several years, and will continue my mission. We have several contributors on this site, and if they contribute their name and contact will be in the piece above. You can email me at [email protected]

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in NFL Draft