Connect with us


American Flag Football League kicks off tonight; Mike Vick & T.O are team captains

Michael Vick, Terrell Owens and Chad Ochocinco will all take place in the new Flag Football league

The American Flag Football League kicks off tonight with an inaugural game in San Jose, California, with the goal of launching a full-scale tournament in 2018. And players including Michael Vick, Terrell Owens, and Chad “Ochocinco” Johnson are already on board.

“When I think about football in the future for guys who want to further their career, this could be an opportunity for them,” Vick said. “They could get enjoyment and fulfillment out of the flag league. I just wanted to be one of the first pioneers being involved.”

The rules of this flag football league are familiar: seven-on-seven teams, 25 yards for a first down, no more than one lateral per play. Games are 60 minutes, with a clock that runs continuously except at the end of each half. No blocking and no kicking are permitted, and fumbles are a dead ball at the spot of the drop. Touchdowns under 50 yards are six points; anything over is seven points. Teams can go for one, two or three points after a touchdown, according to the Shutdown Corner.

NFL Draft Diamonds was created to assist the underdogs playing the sport. We call them diamonds in the rough. My name is Damond Talbot, I have worked extremely hard to help hundreds of small school players over the past several years, and will continue my mission. We have several contributors on this site, and if they contribute their name and contact will be in the piece above. You can email me at [email protected]

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in AFC