Connect with us


Black College Football Hall of Fame finalists have been announced

hbcu-football-hall-of-fameThe Black College Football Hall of Fame Finalists have been announced and the list is very good. This year’s inductees will be announced on October 26, 2016. They will be honored during the Black College Football Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, on February 25, 2017 in Atlanta, Georgia.

  • Joe “747” Adams (QB, Tennessee State University, 1977-1980)
  • Coy Bacon (DL, Jackson State University, 1964-1967)
  • Emerson Boozer (RB, University of Maryland Eastern Shore, 1962-1965)
  • Harold Carmichael (WR, Southern University, 1967-1970)
  • Raymond Chester (TE, Morgan State University, 1966-1969)
  • Parnell “Paydirt” Dickinson (QB, Mississippi Valley State University, 1972-1975)
  • Earl “Air” Harvey (QB, North Carolina Central University, 1985-1988)
  • James Hunter (DB, Grambling State University, 1972-1975)
  • Harold Jackson (WR, Jackson State University, 1965-1968)
  • Gary “Big Hands” Johnson (DL, Grambling State University, 1971-1974)
  • Henry Lawrence (OL, Florida A&M University, 1970-1973)
  • Greg Lloyd (LB, Fort Valley State University, 1983-1986)
  • Leo “Lincoln Locomotive” Lewis (RB, Lincoln University, 1951-1954)
  • Frank Lewis (WR, Grambling State University, 1967-1970)
  • Tyrone McGriff (OL, Florida A&M University, 1976-1979)
  • Timothy Newsome (RB/KR, Winston Salem State University, 1976-1979)
  • Robert Porcher (DL, Tennessee State and South Carolina State University, 1988-1991)
  • Isiah Robertson (DB/LB, Southern University, 1967-1970)
  • John Taylor, (WR, Delaware State University, 1982-1985)
  • Everson Walls (DB, Grambling State University, 1977-1980)


  • Bill Hayes (Head Football Coach, Winston Salem State 1976-1987, North Carolina A&T 1988-2003)
  • Billy Joe (Head Football Coach, Cheyney University 1972-1978, Central State University 1981-1993, Florida A&M University 1994-2004, Miles College 2007-2010)
  • Arnett “Ace” Mumford (Head Football Coach, Jarvis Christian 1924-1926, Bishop College 1927-1929, Texas College 1931-1935, Southern University 1936-1961)
  • Doug Porter (Mississippi Valley State University 1961-1965, Howard University 1974-1978, Fort Valley State University 1979-1996)
  • Joe Taylor (Howard University 1983, Virginia Union 1984-1991, Hampton University 1992-2007, Florida A&M University 2008-2012)

NFL Draft Diamonds was created to assist the underdogs playing the sport. We call them diamonds in the rough. My name is Damond Talbot, I have worked extremely hard to help hundreds of small school players over the past several years, and will continue my mission. We have several contributors on this site, and if they contribute their name and contact will be in the piece above. You can email me at [email protected]

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

More in AFC