Connect with us

Dallas Cowboys

NFL has fixed the rule that cost the Cowboys the playoff game; Dez’s amazing catch

Today, the NFL announced they changed the rule that cost the Dallas Cowboys and Dez Bryant a playoff win.

NFL rule regarding the status of a catch prevented the play from being upheld, since Bryant was deemed not to have made what the league referred to as a “football move”. 

As a result, the NFL has decided to rewrite the rule while maintaining the tenets of the original, according to Fox Sports analyst and former NFL Vice President of Officiating Mike Pereira on Twitter:

A player is considered to be going to the ground if he does not remain upright long enough to demonstrate that he is clearly a runner. If a player goes to the ground in the act of catching a pass (with or without contact by an opponent), he must maintain control of the ball until after his initial contact with the ground, whether in the field of play or the end zone. If he loses control of the ball and the ball touches the ground before he regains control, the pass is incomplete. If he regains control prior the ball touching the ground, the pass is complete. 

NFL Draft Diamonds was created to assist the underdogs playing the sport. We call them diamonds in the rough. My name is Damond Talbot, I have worked extremely hard to help hundreds of small school players over the past several years, and will continue my mission. We have several contributors on this site, and if they contribute their name and contact will be in the piece above. You can email me at nfldraftdiamonds@gmail.com

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

RSS NFL Draft Diamonds

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

More in Dallas Cowboys