Connect with us


NFL names Sportsmanship Award the Art Rooney Sr. Award

There will be one player representing each of the 32 NFL franchises, and earlier this morning, the league announced this particular award will be named after none other than legendary Steelers founder Art Rooney Sr.

“Art Rooney is an iconic figure in NFL history,” said NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell. “It is appropriate that we honor his legacy in this way and recognize NFL players for one of the important values that Mr. Rooney represented so well.”

This prestigious award will be honoring the “NFL player who demonstrates on the field the qualities of great sportsmanship, including fair play, respect for opponents, and integrity in competition,” according to a statement by the league.

NFL Draft Diamonds was created to assist the underdogs playing the sport. We call them diamonds in the rough. My name is Damond Talbot, I have worked extremely hard to help hundreds of small school players over the past several years, and will continue my mission. We have several contributors on this site, and if they contribute their name and contact will be in the piece above. You can email me at

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply

RSS NFL Draft Diamonds

Follow Us on Facebook

Follow Us on Twitter

More in AFC